Not too long ago (just last year )I didn’t even know where to find a chickpea. I wen’t to my grocery store looked in the bean isle and was stumped. It took me a little google search to realize they are in fact-garbanzo beans. I’d used them before, just didn’t know the “other” name. To the hummus loving crowd, my sincerest apologies. I am not a hummus junkie and did not know!
These little puppies, much like any bean, can be used in brownies, muffins, soups, burgers or as a handy part of your favorite trail-mix or salad topping. Use the receipe as an idea maker…change out the spices to suit your tastes or recipe of the day but take a moment to give these fiber giving (3 grams), protein (7 grams- 1/2 cup)smothered babies a try!

Cumin Chickpeas

1 15.5 oz. can chickpeas (garbanzo) beans, rinsed
1 tsp. olive oil
1/2 tsp curry
1/2 tsp cumin
pinch of seasalt, optional

Mix chickpeas in bowl with olive oil and spices.
Lay out on silpat on baking sheet (or spray pan to prevent sticking)
Bake at 400 degrees for 10 minutes.
Remove from oven. Roll chickpeas around and bake for 10 more minutes. Cool and enjoy!

