Yesterday we didn’t eat lunch until almost three in the afternoon (my dashing husband made his famous guacamole…I was in heaven for a few pleasurable, mouth-watering moments!) But, alas, this is not about his amazing guac…it’s about dinner.

While I do not believe in eating simply because the clock says it’s time…I knew my husband would be hungry soon and he requested something healthy instead of quick pizza…darn! So as the dutiful wife I opened my fridge and what did my weary eyes spy? Two Portobello mushrooms that were left over from last weeks meals that were still edible! Do I stuff them? No…I didn’t have Daiya “cheese” and wanted something “easier.” I was feeling lazy.

The spinach harkened that it needed to be used up as well as did the lonely pecans in the back of the fridge. Thus Spinach with Portobello, Figs and Pecans was born! This recipe is much like other green saute we’ve made in the past, but I hope to inspire you to use this as a template for your own version. Change the spinach for kale, swiss chard or your other favorite green. Use cranberries instead of figs and use almonds or walnuts instead of pecans. Anything goes. The Portobello’s give it a chewy, meaty texture but I’ve omitted this in the past and it is still a great little light meal or side dish. ( My younger children have yet to learn to fancy this dish but maybe yours will be more adventurous than mine!) Give it a try, your body just might thank you!

Spinach with Portobello, Figs and Pecans (serves 2)

1 tsp. olive oil (can use water and steam saute)

4-6 cloves garlic, minced (more or less to taste-we like tons!)

2 Portobello mushrooms, stems removed and sliced thin (fajita style)

4-6 huge handfuls of baby spinach

1/4-1/3 cup dried figs, chopped (or other dried fruit, can omit but adds a layer of flavor)

1/4-1/3 cup pecans, chopped (try other types of nuts you have on hand, adds nice crunch!)

sea salt to taste

Directions:

Add olive oil to pan and heat over medium to medium high heat. add in minced garlic and saute for about 30 seconds.

Add in sliced Portobello and saute with garlic for 5-7 minutes or until desired tenderness. You may need to add a little water to keep them from sticking to pan.

Add in the spinach by the handfuls. It may seem like a lot but I promise you it shrinks down to almost nothing! Saute until wilted nicely 3-4 minutes.

Toss in the chopped figs just to warm through.

Sprinkle with a little pinch of sea salt and then add in the chopped pecans. Saute mixture together for another minute and serve warm. Enjoy!

